Tags

MacLean's PassionMacLean’s Passion (Highland Pride #2) by Sharon Cullen

fleurfleurfleurfleur

Synopsis: Colin MacLean has always felt like a black sheep—especially after his brothers are slain before his eyes in the Battle of Culloden. A smuggler by trade, Colin makes for an embarrassing chieftain. He can’t even save his friends from their British pursuers without getting himself captured. But before he is martyred by the hangman’s noose, Colin escapes with his cellmate, a brave lad he’s come to admire. It’s only in the depths of the Highlands that Colin discovers the lad is a lass—and a bonnie one at that.

Raised by her older brothers, Maggie Sinclair can drink a pint in no time flat and wield a dagger with the best of ’em. Still, men have always excluded her and women have always shunned her. Colin makes her feel different. His wild spirit and rugged good looks have Maggie reconsidering her less than ladylike ways. For the first time, she’s tempted to put on a gown, just to see how Colin would react. She can only imagine what might happen next: a kiss . . . a touch . . . and perhaps enough sultry heat to melt a cold Highland night.

Review: I picked this book up at NetGalley because of the very first line in the description, “Perfect for fans of Maya Banks and Monica McCarty, Sharon Cullen’s Highland Pride series continues as Scotland’s most reckless smuggler meets his match in a beautiful spitfire who arouses a renewed sense of duty, camaraderie, and passion.” So I decided to give it and a new author a go. I was very pleased that I did. She does have the moments of emotional turmoil and tear-jerk reactions that McCarty presents; and her plot lines, conflict, and character development are strong, well thought out and entertaining. The only draw back was the sex scenes were kind of lack -luster in how they were written. Not the content but they weren’t as powerful and passion filled as McCarty’s. This does not detract from the great story telling and the adventure her characters, Maggie and Collin, go on. I loved their chemistry, the highs and lows within their relationship, and the fact that Maggie was a real spitfire! I loved her spirit but also her moments of vulnerability. I will definitely read book 1, this being book 2, and book 3 when it comes out. Very enjoyable read that I had difficulty putting down at times. YAY for finding a new author to drool over. Oy vey! A new author to keep track of and follow!! 🙂

Add to Goodreads  Amazon_logo-8  Barnes and Nobles  Pinterest-logo (1)  NetGalley_Logo

Advertisements