Tags

Luck is No LadyLuck is No Lady by Amy Sandas

Release Date: April 5, 2016

fleurfleurfleurfleurfleur

Synopsis“You should not have kissed me,” she replied breathlessly.
“I do a lot of things I shouldn’t. It does not mean I won’t do them again.”

Gently bred Emma Chadwick always assumed she’d live and die the daughter of a gentleman. But when her father’s death reveals a world of staggering debt and dangerous moneylenders, she must risk her good name and put her talent for mathematics to use, taking a position as bookkeeper at London’s most notorious gambling hell. Surrounded by vice and corruption on all sides, it is imperative no one discovers Emma’s shameful secret or her reputation-and her life-will be ruined.

But Roderick Bentley, the hell’s sinfully wealthy owner, awakens a hunger Emma cannot deny. Drawn deep into an underworld of high stakes gambling and reckless overindulgence, she soon discovers that in order to win the love of a ruthless scoundrel, she will have to play the game…and give in to the pleasure of falling from grace.

Review: I enjoyed the story greatly. I read the whole thing in less than two days. Just devoured it. Loved the characters, the setting, the plot, the conflict, and the passion. I adored the last scene at the ball where Emma goes for what she truly wants in a very public way. Roderick was a fascinating character. He had all of the characteristics that I enjoy in a male lead; dynamic, mysterious, strong, passionate, a bit tormented, and all male. He owned the page every time he was on it. I didn’t want the story to end. I wanted more. I want to know what happens with the other two sisters and even with the villain Hale. He wasn’t altogether a bad person. This is the first book by this author I have read. This is the first book in a trilogy, so I look forward to book 2 and 3. It reminded me a lot of Sarah MacLean’s The Rules of Scoundrels series. Great read! Loved it!!

Add to Goodreads  Amazon_logo-8  Barnes and Nobles  Pinterest-logo (1)  NetGalley_Logo

