Tags

Stolen MacKenzie BrideThe Stolen Mackenzie Bride (Mackenzies & McBrides #8) by Jennifer Ashley

fleurfleurfleur

Synopsis: 1745, Scotland: The youngest son of the scandalous Mackenzie family, Malcolm is considered too wild to tame…until he meets a woman who is too unattainable to resist.

Lady Mary Lennox is English, her father highly loyal to the king, and promised to another Englishman. But despite it being forbidden to speak to Malcolm, Lady Mary is fascinated by the Scotsman, and stolen moments together lead to a passion greater than she’d ever dreamed of finding.

When fighting breaks out between the Highlanders and the King’s army, their plans to elope are thwarted, and it will take all of Malcolm’s daring as a Scottish warrior to survive the battle and steal a wife out from under the noses of the English.

Review: I had difficulty getting into this story even though it was the story of Malcolm and Mary Mackenzie, the ancestors of Ian, Mac, Cameron, and Hart. It was slow and for some reason I had a hard time wanting to pick it up and continue. I’m not sure why I can’t pin point what I didn’t like or why I couldn’t get in to it. It has all of the qualities we want in a good story; Jennifer Ashley can write well and entrain, and Mary is a strong female protagonist. So I truly don’t know why I had trouble with this one. I am interested in reading Alec and Will’s stories and I did like seeing how it all began. They are definitely two strong predecessors for the Mackenzie brothers we have come to love.

Add to Goodreads  Amazon_logo-8  Barnes and Nobles  Pinterest-logo (1)

 

