Tags

,

Night's BlazeNight’s Blaze (Dark Kings #5) by Donna Grant

fleurfleurfleurfleurfleurfleur

SynopsisThat one simple kiss slayed him as nothing in his very, very long life had ever done. It physically hurt him to release her and turn his back on everything she offered, but it was for the best.

A KING WHO WALKS IN DARKNESS

The Rhys who has existed for centuries is gone. Stripped of his ability to shift forms, Rhys can no longer embody the majestic, powerful dragon he was at birth. Cut off from his heritage by one of his own, this Dragon King must remain a man, haunted by demons who torment his every waking moment. The darkness would swallow him whole . . . except a woman so beautiful and haunted becomes the one beam of light in his world…

A DESIRE THAT WILL NOT BE DENIED

Lily Ross is taking the first step in building a new life for herself. Still reeling from a relationship that nearly broke her spirit, Lily is wary of her attraction to brawny, brooding Rhys. The passion burning so brightly between them is a potent temptation, but any entanglement is destined to end in disaster. Yet when a spectre from Lily’s past threatens their growing bond, Rhys is forced to choose with his heart, or lose this woman who has become his one chance at salvation…

Review:

I loved, loved, loved this story! It was full of passion, emotion, turmoil, twists I didn’t see coming, and it is by far my favorite in the series, thus far. I loved the two main characters, Rhys and Lily, and I enjoyed every minute of their story.  I was looking forward to Rhys’ story ever since he lost his ability to shift and when it became apparent that he liked Lily, and his story did not disappoint. I can’t believe how it ended (I won’t spoil it, but it has to do with Rhi and Donna Grant better not make her Dark–that is all I am going to say).  There were two surprises I didn’t see coming that just added to the emotional ride that this book took me on. Man, I loved this story! That is why I gave it 6 Fleurs instead of the customary 5.  You can look at my review policy page to see my rating system. I rarely give 6, but this one was easy to give the 6 Fleurs to.  

Favorite Quote: This scene happens after Rhys and Lily finally spend the night together and Rhys is trying to tell her that she means more to him than any other woman he has ever been with, in hopes that she will come to trust him with her troubles.  I call it “Never is a verra long time”

“I like the way you look at me,” Rhys told her.

She glanced down, but the tears were fading. “I’m surprised you ever noticed me. I’m nothing like the women you usually take out.”

Rhys inwardly grimaced, because he’d known his past would get brought up. “I noticed you, Lily. I noticed you from the first moment you came to Dreagan, but I stayed away because you were a different kind of woman. The kind that changes a man. The forever kind.”

“Oh.”

He smiled at her surprised expression. “I’ve never stayed an entire night with a woman.”

“Never?”

“Never. And trust me when I say that’s a verra long time.”

Add to Goodreads   Amazon_logo-8   Barnes and Nobles   Pinterest-logo (1)

