Tags

,

Tiger MagicTiger Magic (Shifters Unbound, Book 5) by Jennifer Ashley

BV-001-ABV-001-ABV-001-ABV-001-ABV-001-A

Synopsis:

He was once a captive, but his urges were never chaged. Now he’ll release them on a beautiful stranger whose own secret desires are longing to be sated…

He doesn’t have a name. He doesn’t have a clan. The humans who held him prisoner for forty years have taken them away. He knew nothing but captivity until nearly a year ago, when he was released into the light. Now Tiger lives in the Austin Shiftertown, where he struggles to belong and searches for an identity.

Carly Randal thinks her fabulous life is complete—until her car breaks down on the side of the road, and a wild-looking Shifter is the only one to help her. Tiger takes one look at Carly and knows instantly—she will be his mate. As Carly is drawn into his Shifter world, she risks everything she has for that forbidden something she still wants: passionate love.

Review: I looked forward to reading Tiger’s book, and it didn’t disappoint.  I loved Tiger and Carly as a couple, and how they meet and get together was so cute.  She is dressed in an all white dress and heels and her car breaks down.  She leans into the passenger side window to grab her phone and when she emerges Tiger is behind her checking her out.  Tiger’s first glimpse of Carly is off her rear-end and he likes what he sees.  He knows right then and there that Carly is his mate and he sets out to win her. There is only one small problem, Carly is engaged.  Carly gives Tiger a ride after he fixes her car and she goes to her fiance’s house and stumbles on to him cheating on her with a woman on the kitchen counter.  Carly is devastated and runs out, accidently leaving Tiger there.  Jump ahead a bit and Carly comes to find out that Tiger has been shot by her now ex-fiance and she rushes to his side.  From there they are rarely separated because of the adventure they end up taking together.

Carly is drawn to Tiger, but she doesn’t want to rush into anything because she doesn’t trust herself, after her very poor judgment concerning her ex-fiance.  Tiger slowly shows her that he is reliable and will be there for her, that she can trust him. Their love affair is passionate and sweet. Carly teaches him how to kiss, which he ends up considering it one of his favorite things to do with Carly. The antagonist in this book is the Shifter Bureau who has discovered the research that created Tiger in the first place so they want him back.  They shoot him several times to see how quickly he can heal.  They endanger Carly to pull him out of hiding.  Walker Danielson is an agent of the Bureau, but he doesn’t agree with his commanding officers plans for Tiger (which are pretty much dissect him and make more).  He ends up helping Tiger escape the country with Carly.  Another small antagonist in this book is the fact that the Shiftertown leaders have heard about Tiger’s outbursts and shootings and want him either collard for real (he wears a fake one), or killed.  Liam disagrees with the other leaders, but he does have his concerns.  He believes that Tiger is uncontrollable and he fears Tiger’s next violent outbursts.  When Carly and Tiger escape to Mexico, Liam and his trackers track them down.  Tiger disappears, but they catch up with Carly and Carly pretty much gives Liam her two cents about how he has been treating Tiger and the truth of why Tiger reacts violently and that he isn’t dangerous to other shifters (not really).  They leave Tiger in Mexico and Carly goes back to Austin.  She doesn’t see Tiger for several weeks and she begins to deal with the symptoms of being pregnant.  Tiger comes back and saves the day and they do end up living happily ever after.  I won’t go into the conclusion, you just have to go read it. 🙂

I loved Carly, she had spunk and drive. Her interactions with Tiger and the other shifters were some of my favorite scenes.  I do recommend this book.  It is one of my favorites in the series.

Favorite Quotes 1: This scene is when 

Damn him. Tiger sat there looking at her with those beautiful eyes, telling her he was leaving.

He couldn’t leave. She’d just found him.

Carly flashed back to the day she realized her father was never coming back. The pain, like a kick to the stomach, had flattened her for weeks.  She’d gone to school in a daze, barely able to talk to anyone, unable to study or focus on homework. She’d started flunking her classes, which had made thing worse; then had come the counseling.

Carly had struggled for years before she figured out how to go on living, how to push the anger and grief to the back of her mind s she could pay attention to what was in front of her.

‘My dad left us when we were kids,” she said in a hard voice.  “He left my mama and four teenage girls with no money and a mountain of debts. He just walked out.”

Tiger said nothing. His golden eyes fixed on her, and his hand around her wrist was warm. But he was still leaving.

“I agreed to marry Ethan because I thought he was safe,” Carly went on. “He wasn’t anything like my dad. Ethan wasn’t a wild drinker or a gambler, he brought home a paycheck, he owned a house, he didn’t have debts, and I knew he’d never walk out and leave me to solve his problems. Ethan prides himself on being Mr. Responsible. I was right about all that, but I was wrong about Ethan respecting me or truly caring about me.”

Carly leaned down to Tiger, her breath coming fast. “Then I met you. And I realized that all my life I’d been looking for safety. A good job, a nice place to live, friends I can trust, the right husband–anything to keep me from that feeling of falling with nothing to catch me.”

“But I’m not safe,” Tiger said. “Nothing about me is safe.”

“I know.” Carly started to laugh, but in a crazy way, not finding anything funny. “And wham, I realized that safety shouldn’t be the most important in my life.”  She poked his chest. “You make me want to be wild and take chances and grab happiness while I have it. With Ethan I was content, and I admit, a little bit smug.  But with you, I’m hot and happy, excited whenever I see you or hear your voice. You walk into a room, and I’m glad. When I woke up with you this morning, I knew it was the best morning of my life. I want more mornings like that, and I want each one to be even better that the last. I lost my dad, I lost the safety of marriage to Ethan, and for about the third time this week, I’ve probably lost my job. On top of it all, I sure as hell don’t want to lose you.”

Tiger watched her with the close stare of a predator. His tiger-striped hair was a mess, his face stubbled with whiskers and still marked with a few bruises from the accident. His black T-shirt under the flannel shirt was marked with sweat, his arms, exposed by pushed-up sleeves, corded with muscle dusted with golden hair.

He was absolutely nothing like the clean-cut, perfectly groomed man Carly was supposed to date, and then marry.

“You’ll never be safe if you stay with me,” Tiger said.

“And I say screw it.” Carly shook off his grasp but only to plop  herself onto the slant of his lap. “I’m not going through my boring, safe life wondering whatever happened to you–wondering what would have happened to me if I’d grabbed you and held on to you with both hands. Don’t you get it, Tiger? I want you.”

add-to-goodreads-button Amazon_logo-8 Screen-shot-2010-05-30-at-2.49.54-PM Google-play-logo iBooks  kobo-icon

Pinterest-logo (1)    booklikes

