Tags

,

Hidden CurrentsHidden Currents (Drake Sisters, Book 7) by Christine Feehan

BV-001-ABV-001-ABV-001-ABV-001-A

Synopsis:From afar, Sheriff Jackson Deveau has always loved Elle Drake, the youngest telepath of seven sisters. After a long time away she’s finally returning home to the small coastal village of Sea Haven. But someone has been following Elle, someone who doesn’t want her to make it back. And when Elle fails to arrive, her disappearance strikes fear in the hearts of everyone who loves her. Now it’s left to Jackson to uncover the mystery of Elle’s vanishing, and rescue her from an unseen danger. But Sea Haven is no longer safe for anyone, and it’ll take the powers of all the Drake sisters and their men to survive the coming storm.

Review: The last book in the Drake Sisters series did not disappoint.  What happens to Elle in the beginning, though, causes what happened to Hannah pale in comparison. Elle goes through hell early on in the book, which causes Jackson to take the final step towards committing to Elle and her legacy.  It was quite awkward being with Elle and Jackson when he finds her, psychically speaking.  When she goes through, while Jackson “witnesses” it made me feel like I shouldn’t have been in the same room!  The hell that Jackson goes through after he loses the link made me want to cry, his pain was so real.  The conflict and the bad guy were great (story-wise), he added to the tensity of the storyline.  Elle and Jackson’s story, once she is home safe, is touching and heartbreaking, but Jackson does all of the right things and his love for her is very touching.  I loved the story, was sad to see the series end, but am looking forward to reading the spin-off series.  Great series, very entertaining, lots of touching moments throughout the 7 books, strong female leads with males that perfectly match up.  My favorite in the series is still Abby and Aleksander’s story, followed by Hannah and Jonas.  Coming in for third favorite is Joley and Ilya’s story, and fourth is this story.

Favorite Quotes 1:  Poignant moment when Jackson finally takes the final step in his relationship with Elle.  When he goes to the Drake house to find where Elle is being held.

Unconsciously he rubbed his palm along the floor, over the mosaic tiles Elle’s ancestors had placed a hundred years earlier.  He felt the life in them, warmth against his skin, as if the mosaic breathed.  Once again he heard the soft feminine voices speaking from a great distance. Some speaking in an ancient tongue, others more modern, but all whispering to be strong, that they were with him.  He had never sought nor wanted a family, or unity or the belonging.  It wasn’t for him.  Yet here he was, the house, the family, the woman, and he had shoved it away.

Elle. Stay alive for me.  Believe in me.

He was asking from her what he hadn’t done himself. He should have believed in what Elle was offering.  Love.  Unconditional love.  Elle had watched him quietly, waiting for him to recognize what was in front of him. He wanted, not unconditional love, but unconditional surrender. Her will to his.  He didn’t want to be out of his comfort zone, he wanted Elle to come to him, bending her ways to his. He hadn’t wanted to give away the violence inside him. He’d wanted acceptance without having to give anything of himself.

And he had lost her.

Favorite Quotes 2:  This is the scene when Jackson finds Elle and needs to encourage her to continue to fight and to survive.

You were there for me, Elle, when I was tied and beaten like a dog and thrown into that rat hole.  You were there for me. Don’t try to talk, and don’t try to take your own life. I see what you’re thinking, but if you turn yourself into a vegetable, what do you think will happen to your sisters? To me? Live, Elle. Believe I’ll come for you.

Elle closed her eyes against Jackson’s voice. Against the small flare of hope that lingered. Stavros was too powerful. He had too much money. No one could ever escape him, least of all her.

You’re just tired, baby, worn out with fighting him.  I know where he’s keeping you now and I’ll stay with you until I come for you. You aren’t alone anymore.

She wanted to be alone. She didn’t want him to see into her mind, the conflict there, to see the terrible things Stavros had done to her body and soul.

Be strong for me. I was strong for you when they ripped me apart and took everything I was. You know what they did to me. You’re the only soul in this world that does. Be strong for me, Elle. I need you to be strong.

She was too tired, too far gone. There was little left of Elle Drake. She wasn’t as strong as Jackson had been. She’d admired him so much, believed in him and then he’d just let her walk away. Was it the children he didn’t want? Or her?

I wanted both. I still want both. You and our girls. I was a fool, Elle. I was afraid you’d get hurt. I have a death sentence hanging over my head and I didn’t want it following us around. Just-

add-to-goodreads-button   Amazon_logo-8    Screen-shot-2010-05-30-at-2.49.54-PM    Pinterest-logo (1)

